Ph.D. in Political Studies

This post is also available in Link identifier #identifier__94128-1Italian image 150277

Ph.D. Coordinator: prof. Link identifier #identifier__153499-2Renato Moro
Deputy Coordinator: prof. Link identifier #identifier__132253-3Giorgio Caravale

The Ph.D. in Political Studies offers various doctoral courses in the  social sciences (economics; history; cultural studies; law; sociology; political science). We aim to train scholars or professionals with a profile closely linked to research on a wide range of politics-related issues.

The PhD has three different Curricula (“Government and Institutions”, “Gender Studies”, and “European and International Studies”) which welcome the application of international students.

In addition, the Curriculum in “European and International Studies” reserves one position with a full fellowship to foreign students with a foreign degree to encourage their application. A second position is reserved to foreign students from a specific regional area, namely Qatar, Bahrein, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, Oman, Jordan, Lebanon, Kuwait, Israel, Turkey, Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, for projects focusing on Energy, environment and Security in the Mediterranean and the Middle East.

The PhD in Political Studies offers a variety of courses training students for a wide range of professional arenas. Doctoral students will also have a chance to participate in research projects run by the Department of Political Studies. The European and International Studies Curriculum counts roughly 20 doctoral candidates, about 6 of which defend their dissertations each year. Students are taught and supervised by a faculty of 35 university professors and lecturers, mostly from the Department of Political Studies research community. The close links between the PhD Program and the Department enable young scholars to participate in such activities of the academic community as research groups/contracts, publications and scholarly reports.

All courses are based on a markedly interdisciplinary approach, with cross-disciplinary seminars and study groups complementing the more specific focus of each program. They are also based on a solid international approach, with a number of foreign scholars in the faculty and a wide range of international visiting professors, the opportunity to do research abroad, and the integration of students into the global community of scholars through lectures, colloquia and international research projects. International scholars are also invited to sit on PhD committees for the final defence of the dissertations. The PhD program also invites external academics and private sector representatives to participate in various activities.

Every year, we welcome many visiting professors to teach and deliver lectures: among them, in the last few years, we have had the pleasure to have Frédéric Bozo (Paris 3 – Sorbonne Nouvelle), Antoine Compagnon (Collège de France), Matthew Evangelista (Cornell), Francis J. Gavin (MIT), David Holloway (Stanford), Annick Jaulin (Sorbonne), Marc Lazar (SciencesPo), Melvyn Leffler (Virginia), Carme Molinero (Università Autonoma di Barcellona), Christian Ostermann (Woodrow Wilson Center), Nell Painter (Princeton), Ronald Pruessen (University of Toronto), Matias Spektor (Getulio Vargas Foundation), Jeremy Suri (University of Texas at Austin), Irwin Wall (CaliforniaIrvine), Nicolas Werth (Institut pour l’histoire du temps présent), Vladislav Zubok (LSE).

Our students have also benefited from exchange programs and research collaboration projects with the following partner Universities and Research Centres in Italy and abroad:

  • Centro de Estudios Politicos y Constitucionales – Madrid
  • CRIE (Centro di ricerca sulle Istituzioni Europee) presso l’Istituto Universitario Suor Orsola Benincasa – Napoli
  • Friedrich SchillerUniversität – Jena
  • SciencesPo – Paris
  • Scuola Superiore dell’Amministrazione dell’Interno – Roma
  • The National Security Archives – Washington
  • Universidad de Valencia
  • Universidad Rey Juan Carlos – Madrid
  • Universitat Autònoma – Barcelona
  • Universidad Carlos III -Madrid
  • Universidad de Castellon
  • University of Cluj-Napoca
  • University of Craiova
  • University of Groningen (Department of Political Sciences)
  • Universidad de Sevilla (Departemento de Metafisica y Corientes Actuales de la Filosofia, Etica y Filosofia Politica)
  • Universität Bremen (Department of Political Sciences)
  • Université Charles De Gaulle Lille III
  • Université Montpellier III Paul Valery (Département de Philosophie)
  • Université Nancy
  • Université Nantes
  • Université Paris I Sorbona (Ecole doctorale en Sciences Politiques /Ecole Doctorale en Philosophie)
  • Université Paris III
  • Université Paris XIII (Département d’Histoire)
  • University of Leiden (Department of Public Administration)
  • Woodrow Wilson Center for International Studies
Link identifier #identifier__126069-4Link identifier #identifier__188547-5Link identifier #identifier__160638-6
MONIA CZECH 18 July 2022