Home » Senza categoria » The Department of Political Studies

The Department of Political Studies

Since its founding in 1996, the Department of Political Studies has a strong vocation for international and interdisciplinary studies. The Department has 63 faculties, whose scholarship and teaching span across the fields of Political Science, International Relations, Government, History, Economics, Cooperation, Development, Peace Research, European Studies.


Our aim is to provide students with concrete employment opportunities, both in national and local public administrations, in the business world, and particularly in institutions, organizations and companies operating abroad, primarily within the European Union. This perspective follows the tradition of diplomatic studies, but with a renewed attention to all those work environments that have affinity with international relations. The international dimension is, in fact, a very specific feature of our Department and our research; every academic year foreign scholars from all over the world visit our institution to take part in meetings or conferences and to give lessons or seminars.


  • Organization & Governance


The Italian Law on Higher education prescribes participation of professors, student and personnel representatives in governance with the purpose of safeguarding their respective interests in decision making.


The organizational structure of the Department is as follows:

  • The Dean has the overall responsibility for the Department, develops strategy and educational policy, maintains internal and external contacts and has the responsibility for management of faculty.
  • The Department Council is the body that safeguards participation of staff, faculty and students in governance. Its Members are all the professors and elected representatives among and by the staff and the students. The Council takes every decision on all governmental issues regarding the Department and on the interests of personnel.
  • The Dean, the Coordinators of the Courses (who hold responsibility for the academic program and admissions decisions), and a representative of the staff form a Steering Committee that jointly act as the management team, chaired by the Dean.
  • The Administrative Secretary is responsible for the management of the staff, supervision of administrative processes, HR and secretarial support, and finance. The Research Secretary is responsible for the facilitation and execution of the Department research policies, and for the PhD course. The Educational Secretary is responsible for support to the educational staff, (international) recruitment, communication and PR, alumni affairs, admissions processes, registration and curriculum management, career development, student life affairs, campus facilities.